Understanding the X-Men Films Timeline: A Complete Order Guide  

The X-Men film series is one of the most successful franchises of the 21st century and has had two separate timelines – the original film trilogy timeline featuring Marvel’s mutants in the 2000s and the subsequent reboot saga starting in 2011 with X-Men: First Class. Both trilogies explore the superhero team’s heroic adventures in different contexts and offer a glimpse into a fantastic world of mutants and complex conflicts. If you’re looking for a comprehensive guide to the X-Men film series, then you’re in the right place.

Original X-Men Movies Timeline  

X-Men (2000)

The original X-Men film released in 2000 and was directed by Bryan Singer. It stars an ensemble cast that includes Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, Patrick Stewart as Professor Charles Xavier and Ian McKellen as Magneto. Set in the present time, the film follows the mutants as they battle an anti-mutant military organization led by General William Stryker. With the help of their new allies and special powers, the X-Men are able to protect the world from Stryker’s nefarious plans.

X2: X-Men United (2003)

Released in 2003, X2: X-Men United is the sequel to the original X-Men movie. Directed by Bryan Singer, this installment features even more spectacular effects and a riveting story. In this part of the story, the X-Men must contend with a new enemy, the military organization led by Colonel William Stryker, which is determined to wipe out all mutants. Led by Professor Charles Xavier and Logan/Wolverine, the team rallies together to take on this powerful new foe.

X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)

The third and final installment of the original X-Men film trilogy was released in 2006. Directed by Brett Ratner, the movie is notable for its thrilling fight scenes, intense action sequences and a fascinating script. This movie is set during a period when a cure for the mutations has been discovered, and the characters faced a difficult morality choice between ‘curing’ themselves or embracing and protecting their identity as mutants. The movie follows the mutants as they battle with a powerful enemy as well as their ethical dilemmas, ultimately leading to the powerful climax.

Reboot X-Men Movies Timeline  

X-Men: First Class (2011)

The first movie in the rebooted X-Men franchise is X-Men: First Class (2011). Directed by Matthew Vaughn and starring an all-star cast, this movie is set in the Cold War period. The film follows mutants Professor Charles Xavier and Erik Lehnsherr as they form the X-Men team as well as battle their powerful enemies.

X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

The 2014 movie X-Men: Days of Future Past is the sequel to X-Men: First Class. The movie follows the X-Men team as they attempt to prevent a dystopian future by traveling back in time. Directed by Bryan Singer, this movie was praised for its complex and thrilling storyline as well as introducing a slew of interesting characters.

X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)

Released in 2016, X-Men: Apocalypse is the third and final movie of the rebooted X-Men trilogy. Directed by Bryan Singer, the movie follows the mutants as they face their biggest threat yet: the titular villain Apocalypse. An old enemy has returned with a vengeance and the X-Men team must team up to prevent him from annihilating the world.

Console X-Men Movies  

X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)

X-Men Origins: Wolverine is the first of two X-men console movies. This movie is a prequel to the original trilogy and is focused on the Wolverine character and his origin story. Taking place in the 1980s, the movie follows Logan as he battles a government organization and his own inner demons in order to protect those he loves.

The Wolverine (2013)

The second of the console X-Men movies is The Wolverine, released in 2013. This movie is a stand-alone story set many years after the events of X-Men Origins: Wolverine. In this movie, Logan finds his peaceful life interrupted when he is pulled into a violent conflict in Japan. He must use his ferocity and fighting skills to survive a gauntlet of adversaries and protect his friends in the process.

Deadpool Films  

Deadpool (2016)

Deadpool is the first movie of its own series, released in 2016. Based on the comic book character of the same name, the movie stars Ryan Reynolds as antihero Wade Wilson. The movie follows Wade as he undergoes a shady experiment that grants him secret powers. Using his newly-acquired abilities and his sharp wit, Deadpool must battle a powerful enemy in order to protect his girlfriend and himself.

Deadpool 2 (2018)

Deadpool 2 is the sequel to the original Deadpool film, released in 2018. This movie follows Deadpool as he reassembles his X-Force team in order to protect an innocent mutant from a powerful adversary. In this adventure, Deadpool must deal with his own ego and new enemies while protecting his newfound family.

The X-Men film series is one of the most ambitious franchises of the 21st century, offering a unique look at the world of mutants and complex ethical dilemmas. Both the original trilogy and the reboot saga have taken the X-Men to new heights with thrilling fight scenes, riveting stories and an exciting cast of characters. If you’re looking for an X-Men marathon, then this guide should help you understand the complete order of the movies.

Previous articleLetterkenny quotes
Next article1212 meaning